Fifth force

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 GrahamD 08 Apr 2021

This is potentially quite exciting for anyone puzzled by the gulf between our 'standard model' and the universe's apparent behaviour on large scale:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science_and_environment

Offwidth 08 Apr 2021
In reply to GrahamD:

Very exciting. The correct link, so the story isn't lost as new articles arrive on that page: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/56643677

In the spirit of magical realism, this might just be a consequence of a populist social breakdown of what constitutes scientific truth!?

lorentz 08 Apr 2021
In reply to Offwidth:

So is this the force that the Jedi use?

It is exciting news though. I studied Cosmos and Philosophical Traditions as part of my degree (no maths or physics involved... Just the theory) and stuff like this I still find fascinating. Wonder if the 5th force will offer explanation for the dark matter conundrum in some way?

Post edited at 09:13
 Lankyman 08 Apr 2021
In reply to GrahamD:

> This is potentially quite exciting for anyone puzzled by the gulf between our 'standard model' and the universe's apparent behaviour on large scale:

Perhaps we are one step closer to understanding how cats always know when a packet of butter has been opened?

Offwidth 08 Apr 2021
In reply to lorentz:

"So is this the force that the Jedi use?"

You are proving my point... mu-on, nothing to see here but physics.

Post edited at 09:54
 lorentz 08 Apr 2021
In reply to Offwidth:

Very good. Physicists you say? You're all a bunch of Quarks aren't you? 😁

scratcher 08 Apr 2021
In reply to Lankyman:

> Perhaps we are one step closer to understanding how cats always know when a packet of butter has been opened?

Lol.