Crosswords or Number Puzzles?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Rog Wilko 13 Feb 2021

Mrs Wilko loves a kakuro or some such, but for me it has to be cryptic crosswords. I'm not very good at them, and have given up on the Guardian ones as all the old setters have died off or retired and the new ones aren't on my wavelength (RIP Araucaria). Number puzzles are so boring and you never get a laugh out them, which you can with a cryptic. There was a great one in the Westmorland Gazette recently:

Fiery, being of South American heritage (12).

Do you have a favourite?

bouldery bits 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rog Wilko:

I also love a crossword - although usually do the quick ones. Cryptics are beyond my tiny brain / patience. 

Number problems aren't my bag.

Sealwife 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rog Wilko:

Both, though I prefer the easy crossword clues.  I don’t do cryptic ones often enough to get properly clued-in.

Have recently started killer sudoku which I’m enjoying 

profitofdoom 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rog Wilko:

I hate crosswords with a deep hate, though I love reading

Numbers are fascinating

But I love chess most of all

Wingnut 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rog Wilko:

Mixed bag for me. Been working my way through some geo-art (a form of geocaching where the setter uses a series of puzzles to draw a picture on the map) recently - quite a good recent one in central Brum in the shape of a bull's head.

Rob Parsons 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rog Wilko:

> Fiery, being of South American heritage (12).

Incandescent.

A Wrinkled Retainer? (7)

Blue Straggler 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rob Parsons:

> A Wrinkled Retainer? (7)

Deposit? 

colinakmc 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rog Wilko:

Numbers for me. I wish they didn’t, but Cryptic crosswords mostly just irritate me. 

Rob Parsons 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Blue Straggler:

> Deposit? 

No

OP Rog Wilko 13 Feb 2021
In reply to Rob Parsons: