Covid transmission through air and its mitigation

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 29 Oct 2020

Excellent article from Spain on the probability of Covid transmission in different environments and how and by how much ventilation and masks can reduce the number of infections. Specifically discusses classrooms and points out that the teacher is the most infectious person in the room.

https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-10-28/a-room-a-bar-and-a-class-how-...

marsbar 29 Oct 2020
In reply to Removed User:

I've been told in the school that seems to have the most clear advice, that as a teacher I'm to stay 2m away from all pupils at all times in the classroom.  (Masks in corridors)  

They have started putting screens in around the teachers desks.  

Hopefully this and the windows and doors open will help.  

Removed User 29 Oct 2020
In reply to marsbar:

> I've been told in the school that seems to have the most clear advice, that as a teacher I'm to stay 2m away from all pupils at all times in the classroom.  (Masks in corridors)  

> They have started putting screens in around the teachers desks.  

> Hopefully this and the windows and doors open will help.  

I guess not shouting at your pupils will be prudent for the foreseeable future .

Fat Bumbly2 29 Oct 2020

It’s them shouting at me which is a worry. Feeling seriously exposed

girlymonkey 29 Oct 2020
In reply to marsbar:

I don't get why masks aren't being worn in classrooms! It seems more important than in corridors as you don't spend much time in the corridor!

Andy Hardy 29 Oct 2020
In reply to girlymonkey:

Some students are hard of hearing / deaf and lip read the teacher. Can't think of a good reason for the kids to not wear masks though...

Robert Durran 29 Oct 2020
In reply to girlymonkey:

> I don't get why masks aren't being worn in classrooms! It seems more important than in corridors as you don't spend much time in the corridor!