Compressing motorbike forks for travel

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 lanky 05 Jul 2022

Hi, so I've bought a new bike which fits very snug under my bed in the van. If I strap the front forks down about 30mm (thought I could do this between headstock and around bottom of the form)to allow easier access/egress and storage could this potentially damage the forks if held under slight compression for extended periods. Thanks for looking

jimtitt 05 Jul 2022
In reply to lanky:

Guess I'm the expert on this! Currently I transport my enduro's in the back of a Ford Galaxy, I can ram three, 450, 200 and 125 KTM's in. But I've been building and transporting the things for 40 years and death to them is not compressed enough, if they move just slightly they do it all the time in the same spot and take the seals out. Either you strap the bike down onto a block under the frame or pull it down like mad, half the fork travel is good.

If it's close on headroom like on mine we pull the front wheel out and replace it with a small plastic trolley wheel to make loading easier then crank the forks down hard. The springs don't care about the preload, I don't take the clutch and valve springs out either.

Alternatively just pull the fork legs out, I once transported my 490 Yamaha to Wales in the back of a Renault 4 like this.

There are also fork savers, effectively a lump of plastic which goes between the front tyre and under the triple crown, shit with road bikes though!

Post edited at 16:30
 Madhatter2132 05 Jul 2022
In reply to lanky:

I've had loads of people say it makes it more likely to trash the oil seals in the forks but I'd say it depends how long for probably. I've done thousands of miles with bikes in the back of vans with the front forks compressed a bit when strapped down and never had a problem.