Camping meals and long life food ideas for trips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Previously we used to head to Europe in the summer (I'm a teacher and my wife is a lecturer) and while there we would enjoy heading to local supermarkets, markets and shops for food. We always considered this was our way of giving back to the local economy  - just a little. For various reasons, everything has increased in price massively so this year we are considering stocking the van before we head out to save money where we can. We're off bouldering in Valais, Switzerland and I am shocked at the exchange rate. Obviously we can't take four week's worth of food but we can take staples with us. I thought I'd get ideas on some good long-life cupboard staples. Here are a few we take usually:

UHT milk, cartons of UHT soya cream for carbanara type meals, dried mushrooms are worth every penny, tinned anything (carrots, peas, mushrooms, beans obviously, peaches, stawberies, jack fruit), tempeh in a jar, capers in a jar, rice pudding, custard, pasta and rice obviously, cous cous, QUINOA is a massive one.

We have two young kids and generally start each day with porridge to get the whole family going. 

Anyone got any other key ingredients they like to take?

Tringa 21 Jul 2022
In reply to The Connor-Crabb:

Any dried pulses or beans.

Smash - not the greatest thing but its OK.

Dried fruits - apricots, prunes, sultanas

Oats

Nuts

Dave

Mike-W-99 21 Jul 2022

Can you not just buy it in france? We’re just back and it was all fine in the big Lidl we stopped at.

Even Switzerland wasn’t too bad if you were careful.

ExiledScot 21 Jul 2022
In reply to Tringa:

> Smash - not the greatest thing but its OK.

Hello, what! A few dried herbs, bit of cheese melted in, camping heaven that takes minutes to make and uses very little gas. 

In reply to Mike-W-99: