Anyone with brickwork/pointing knowledge?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Si dH 23 May 2022

Hi folks,

I had a bricklayer round yesterday to look at repointing part of our house that's in a poor state. While here he pointed out another (large) part of the wall that has been repointed before (not by us) and which I thought was ok, but he says has not been ground out properly and will not last long term, so he advised getting that done too.

I wanted to get a second opinion - is there anyone knowledgeable on here? I've attached a picture of the stuff he said should be redone.

Thanks

Si

nic mullin 23 May 2022
In reply to Si dH: I’m by no means an expert, but have done a bit of raking out. From your pic it looks like they’ve run the grinder along the joints and only removed one blade’s width of old mortar, rather than the full width of the joint, so the new mortar will be stuck to old stuff, rather than the edges of the bricks. It also looks like they’ve done the perps with the grinder too, so didn’t get into the corners, which will have barely any new mortar in. The rule of thumb is to rake out to 25mm deep everywhere. I wouldn’t be surprised if it didn’t last, especially if the wall faces into the weather, but couldn’t guess at how long it’ll keep the wind and rain out for.

It’ll look neater if it’s all re-done at the same time as it’ll all be the same colour, finish, weathering etc. If it needs scaffolding, it’ll cost you more to get it done as two separate patches rather than doing it in a oner, so take those factors into account before you decide.

Hope that helps.

jkarran 23 May 2022
In reply to Si dH:

No expert by any stretch but I had a little read around it in the past when patching my own place up.

It's not obvious to me from the pic that it has been repointed, something has happened, it may be more obvious by contrast with the rest of the wall.