Another common land thread .....

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mike123 14 Jul 2019

I know common land questions have come up before and as usual I know there are people here who know lots about this. A small piece of land ( quartet of an acre at most ) that was once upon a time " common " is now 'owned " by the parish council . . I want to find out as much as I can about this process , what rights once existed , what rights the parish council can do away with ,( if any or all etc ) . I have very little knowledge about this so anything may be of help . . I have a feeling there will certain words or phrases regarding the land that will be usefull for me to find out . What are they ? I don't really want to go into the back story yet before I've done a bit of digging regarding who owns the land etc , but I think I will be posting about the story as it unfolds . And possibly buying some sheep to exercise my grazing rights if they still exist .

toad 15 Jul 2019
In reply to mike123:

Talk to the open spaces society oss.org.uk as they are a statutory consultee on all commons related matters and very vociferous in defending against changes like enclosure

OP mike123 15 Jul 2019
In reply to toad:

thanks.

I'm  just doing a bit a googling to try and find the history of ownership of the land in question and what rights , if any existed before the parish council took ownership . interesting stuff . 

OP mike123 15 Jul 2019
In reply to Bulls Crack:

thanks. just what I had been looking for earlier on.

OP mike123 16 Jul 2019
In reply to mike123: