/ wanting to learn multi pitch

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
ReeceBCooper 12 Jul 2019

I’ve been climbing for a few years now sport and recently for the past year I’ve been trad and wanting to learn how to multi pitch I’m in chesterfield Derbyshire so happy to travel if anyone can help let me know

John Cuthbert 12 Jul 2019
In reply to ReeceBCooper:

Check out the courses at Plas y Brenin, the National Outdoor Centre....

JC

beardy mike 13 Jul 2019

Assuming you can set up a solid belay, there's really no difference, you just put in a belay and stop. A minor difference is that it is sensible to put in a piece shortly after the second belay to reduce the chance to loading the belay with a factor 2 fall. If you have the skills to do a single pitch, you have them for 2 or more pitches. Just start easy and work your way up. The only extra stuff you will want to learn but which isn't necessary until you actually need it is self rescue techniques.

Mick Ward 13 Jul 2019
In reply to beardy mike:

Totally agree.

[To the OP]  Back in the day, most people climbed in the mountains and what we now term multi pitch was the norm. My first lead was a 500 foot V Diff. It took me all day!

If you go to Wales, a good place to start might be Little Tryfan. Close to the road and feels friendly. You can do every route in one pitch but equally you could do them in two.

If that works OK, maybe go round and do the Ordinary Route on the Idwal Slabs, the next day. Much longer, so lots of belay practice. (Be careful with the way down - a notorious 'bad step' area.)

Drop grades. Leave yourself lots of time. Try and stay out of queues (not always possible, especially on the Ordinary Route).

When you get home, stick a post on here, reviewing what happened, what you think you got right, what you may not have.

Above all - enjoy!

Mick

McHeath 13 Jul 2019