Alps 3day tour

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Herdwickmatt 18 Sep 2018

Hi folks,

It's my ten year wedding anniversary next year. The missus suggested doing a bit of Alpine (any other mountains are acceptable) tour to celebrate. We are both fell/mountain marathon runners so would like to do a bit of an alpine walk/run tour. We have 3nights(ish) and would probably go hut-to-hut. Easily accessible from airports is a must!

Any suggestions? 

Thanks,

Matt

McHeath 18 Sep 2018
In reply to Herdwickmatt:

Too early to congratulate yet ... which month/season are you planning on?

OP Herdwickmatt 18 Sep 2018
In reply to McHeath:

Probably Easter or June (I'm a teacher so we need to squeeze it into holidays) and around childcare for the toddlers

DaveHK 18 Sep 2018

You could do part of the Aosta Alta Via 2. It's absolutely stunning.

http://www.lovevda.it/en/sport/trekking/alte-vie-trails/alta_via_2

DaveHK 18 Sep 2018

> Probably Easter or June (I'm a teacher so we need to squeeze it into holidays) and around childcare for the toddlers

Easter will severely narrow your options, its prime ski touring season!

goatee 19 Sep 2018

Tour of Dents du Midi. Absolutely stunning and should be do-able in three days. Easy with public transport as well. Not until June though. 

Toerag 19 Sep 2018
In reply to DaveHK:

> Easter will severely narrow your options, its prime ski touring season!

As will June - anything remotely high will still have snow on north-facing ledges.

to the OP - Have a look at the Bavarian alps - fly to Munich and hire a car or use the trains. If you're thinking of easter or June then there's plenty of stuff of low enough altitude to avoid the snow.  The webcams at fotowebcam.eu are useful as you can look back and work out when the snow goes.

Have you been to the alps before? If so, which bits?

BobtheBagger 19 Sep 2018