Tryfan North Ridge in high wind

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Plugg_81 25 Oct 2018

Hello. I really want to do the Tryfan North Ridge scramble tomorrow but weather reports are suggesting winds of up to 50km per hour... I have some mountaineering experience. Gran Paradisio, Walk to Hornlihutte, Crib Goch and Pinnacle Ridge. All in good conditions. Is 50km wind and predicted rain a no no or can I still go?! I’m keen but people in town are advising against it... thanks.

In reply to Plugg_81:

You could get something out of the day by going and if you think the gusts are a bit sporting, go along Heather Terrace and to the summit via the south ridge.  But Tryfan will still be there on Saturday, and it's a judgement only you can make.

T.

Plugg_81 25 Oct 2018
In reply to Pursued by a bear:

Thanks that’s good advice. Saturday looks a bit grim too. I’ll have a think

andyd1970 25 Oct 2018
In reply to Plugg_81:

Looking at the MWIS forecast it’s giving gusts of up to 40 mph, with hail and snow showers causing a whiteout in the afternoon with a windchill factor of -14.

Bit like a typical day in the Cairngorms lol

On a serious note the Mountain will always be there for another day but don’t forget the other stuff you have done was all in good conditions and it will turn an easy dry scramble into a slippery, cold, wet and windy route which can knock you off balance/ cause a slip

Just think about the people who may have to come and get you if you can’t deal with the weather conditions, especially if your alone.

Mike Peacock 25 Oct 2018
In reply to Plugg_81:

High winds might or might not be an issue, depending on the direction and how well you know the route. However, looking at MWIS and Met Office, I'd be more concerned by the potential thunder and snow.

"Increasingly frequent hail and snow showers; thunder in places. In afternoon, the precipitation almost constant for periods, giving whiteout."

In reply to Plugg_81: