Printing from OS maps website not rubbish

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Today I printed part of a 1:25,000 map using the OS online maps service (I have a subscription). The margins weren’t stupidly big, the scale of the printed map was exactly correct, and it printed the same area as I asked it to.

Plenty of people including me have commented on how poor this has been in the past so I thought I’d mention it. I’m still weighing up whether to move to Anquet though. 

In reply to Thugitty Jugitty:

It's only taken them six years to fix thee margins issue, then? That's good...

HomerTheFat 03 Jun 2022

Phew!

Martin W 08 Jun 2022

It's certainly a vastly better and easier to understand UI for generating the PDF than previously.  You may still need to be careful how you print the resulting file though: on my iMac the print dialogue defaults to 97% scaling, which gives you grid squares 37mm wide for 1:25,000 maps, even though the PDF is A4 sized.  So long as you remember to set the scaling to 100%, though, the grid squares are bang on 40mm.  But that's a Mac thing not the fault of the OS maps web app.

At the risk of a thread hijack...when plotting a route as follows:

Drop pin/waymark 1 at start;

Drop pin/waymark 2 at first objective;

Drop pin/waymark 3 at second objective; etc.

When I drop pin 2, pin 3 etc. I cannot see a bearing from the previous pin position. The waymarks give me the distance, long., lat. and the grid ref of the pin but no sign of a bearing. Is there something I am missing? When I print the route i get a route card with the same information and the elevation change between legs but again, no bearings.  When i export the GPX file it autoloads it into my memory map.

All I want is to see the bearing between points. I am trying to determine the profile of the ground over a large area to see what will be in shadow as the sun rises from the horizon.