HF Holidays Assessment

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 edd_5 11 Sep 2018

I'm a trainee ML looking to get some leadership experience by volunteering for HF Holidays. My assessment is coming up and am wondering if anyone has any advice on what to expect?

Cheers

Billhook 11 Sep 2018
In reply to edd_5:

Excellent navigation - mine was pretty much the same standard as the ML assessment except it was done only during the day.

Social ability with a group - thats what you need to display.  Not a shrinking violet and not the centre of attention either.

They claim to employ people with a knowledge of the countryside & wildlife etc., but my assessor couldn't identify a raven when one flew past.!!

Trangia 11 Sep 2018
In reply to edd_5:

I agree with the navigation, they expect a very high standard comparable to ML. When I did the assessment we also had to do night navigation.

Also they will present you with difficult scenarios. Eg You arrive at the start of a day out by coach, the coach has gone and you are just about to set off when one of the group, a nervous lady, announces that she has forgotten to bring her walking boots. You are at the head of a remote valley, the walk back to base is 15 miles and she isn't prepared to do it unaccompanied. The rest of the group are anxious to get going on the walk and make it quite clear that having paid for the holiday they expect you to deliver. There is no mobile reception. How do you handle the situation?

I don't know if they still require you to arrange evening entertainment? I found that to be a bind.

They will be monitoring you from the moment you arrive, including how you get on with the guests over dinner - Eg. Good and considerate table manners? Passing salt and pepper to other guests? Wait for others to be served before starting to eat?Comfortable conversationalist? Do you tell inappropriate jokes? Are you shy or extrovert?  Drink too much wine? etc etc