Hey! Needing a little advice!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hey! 

Totally new to the UKH forums and hillwalking in general! 

A little about myself, I'm currently rural living in the Scottish Highlands, and have recently found my feet with hillwalking. I'm currently on a two year plan of getting fit (losing weight rapidly/safely by climbing sub 2000s) and training myself for an Everest Base Camp trek in 2020.

I'm still a total newbie, and would love any pointers/advice you guys would have for someone starting out? 

I would like some advice on how to repel horseflies as well since apparently they're eating the weight off of me each time I climb!! Turns out, I'm their favourite meal! 

Kitted myself out with a decent set of Berghaus walking boots, a set of poles, the right clothes etc. I've fell in love with being outdoors and asked soon as I'm able, I'll be looking for the bigger challenges such as Ben Nevis etc! 

Welsh Kate 09 Jul 2018
In reply to worfsfeatherduster:

Hello!

For a total newbie I'd recommend getting competent and confident in your navigation. You may already be from other activities, but if not, learning map reading and more advanced nav will be essential for safe and happy hill days. The books by Peter Cliff, and by Carlo Forte are good introductions, or have a look for a course by a local provider.

Some walking groups also provide nav instruction, and if there's a walking group in your area this might be a good place to learn some skills and increase your confidence.

But you'll also learn from experience - from things that go wrong as well as right! Enjoy that experience!

In reply to Welsh Kate:

Thank you for the super fast reply! 

Thankfully orienteering has taught me well! This is some very good advice though. I'm sticking with sub 2000s for now as I know they're achievable for my skill set at present.