Help planning a charity walk

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Joshmurison 10 Feb 2018

Hi,

Im going to be doing the NC500 from start to finish walking and camping at night to sleep. Im going to be doing this to raise money for mfr cash for kids 500 faces whom ive spoken to and will be meeting to arrange fundraising before i take it on. Its a big task as i have no experiance but im sstrong hearyed determined and want to challange myself. But im needing help planning this as in how many miles a day where ill stop so people that are experianced and can help me its for a good cause and any help would be greatly appreciated.  Please feel free to email me on joshmurison17@outlook.com

Thanks josh 

Post edited at 20:03
 SouthernSteve 10 Feb 2018
In reply to Joshmurison:

> re:  It's a big task as I have no experience

I would strongly recommend you get some experience before considering such a long multi-day walk. Without that you really don't know what you are getting into. You might find it easy or very hard to do this type of challenge, but without a few days under your belt it is really difficult to tell. The simplest things like blisters or poor navigation could scupper the whole venture or put you in harms way. 

Joshmurison 10 Feb 2018
In reply to SouthernSteve:

I know i can walk long distance and on rough terrain. I live in gardenstown and walk the are which is very hilly as it consists of mainly cliffside walks so the walking long distance isnt an issue day affer day will be a challange but im getting myself fit at the moment. Im pretty determined to do it and with the right help im sure i can. Plus its not till july august time id be doing it and ive started pushing myself on walks. Beeing it no experiance of taking on such a big task but i walk daily around the coastside. Its more planning how much i take on each day and stops and so on as its not your average walk 10 mile in my local area .

Post edited at 21:12