Crib Goch conditions in late November

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RatKing 23 Oct 2019

Hi all,

I'm thinking of going to snowdonia for a week in late november and am well aware that it is the windiest and rainiest month. I'm somewhat new to hiking and scrambling, (did my first proper 7 days backpacking adventure around the Lake district this year) having previously done striding edge in poor conditions and was quite comfortable there.

Crib Goch looks scarier but I'd be very happy during summer, but I have no clue wether the conditions in November are great for someone like me who is relativley new (although I like to think I'm a competent beginner for scrambling).

Is it worth doing for a beginner or is it a case of just having to see if the conditions are alright on the day?

In reply to RatKing:

Crib Goch is notably more difficult and exposed than Striding Edge. It's still very much a walkers' scramble, but it's a route that the ill-prepared can and do come a-cropper on. 

I'm afraid you hit the nail on the head with the last line. You'll have to decide based on conditions at the time.

Wind, rain and low cloud all make Crib Goch (indeed, all scrambles) a lot more serious than they would be on a nice day. In high wind it's well worth avoiding.

Snow and ice are reasonably unlikely in Wales these days but not out of the question in November, and if it's proper winter on the ground then Crib Goch is mountaineering terrain. If so it may require an axe and crampons, and certainly sound judgement and a lot of care. 

There are loads of less serious alternatives in Snowdonia that still give you a great day out on the hills. Check out our Welsh Route Cards: https://www.ukhillwalking.com/logbook/r/find.php

GrahamD 23 Oct 2019
In reply to RatKing:

Just to add to what Dan said, don't forget that days are short in November, so if weather looks OK and you are going for it, give yourself as much daylight as you can.

tjdodd 23 Oct 2019