Compact cooking (water boiling) system for bumbag

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 elliot.baker 08 Nov 2022

Wasn't sure if to put this in Hilltalk or gear.... apologies if wrong place.

What kind of super-compact "cooking" system do people use? I want something to put in the lumbar pack I just bought (Sierra Designs 7-10, from the bumbag camping article on here)

In the article the chap uses a tiny alcohol stove but I've never used one of those before so it might be a bit of a learning process for me, though it does look tiny. Would I need to carry much fuel to make a couple of coffees on a walk? I suppose you have the added benefit that you only need to carry what you intend to use, unlike a gas cannister you are carrying potentially many days worth of gas.

I've got a pocket rocket style burner already so also considering just getting the smallest gas cannister but then it wouldn't fit in one of those small 300-450ml titanium cups.... 

decisions... what do other people use? This is really just for the novelty of having a hot coffee in the hill sometimes.

LastBoyScout 08 Nov 2022
In reply to elliot.baker:

Think you're on the right track with the burner and mini-gas canister - there was a thread recently about refilling them from a bigger canister.

Plenty of tiny burners around, e.g. https://alpkit.com/products/kraku, which seems a re-badged Robens Fire Midge at 25% less!

Also, consider something like this, if you're only after hot water - flatter than a Ti mug (admittedly heavier, though):

https://www.seatosummit.co.uk/products/camp-kitchen/camping-pots-pans/x-set...

Wainers44 08 Nov 2022
In reply to LastBoyScout:

> Think you're on the right track with the burner and mini-gas canister - there was a thread recently about refilling them from a bigger canister.

> Plenty of tiny burners around, e.g. https://alpkit.com/products/kraku, which seems a re-badged Robens Fire Midge at 25% less!