Approach shoe guidance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
RossGuyton 09 Feb 2018

Hello everybody - I am a forestry consultant, walking miles every day on uneven and rough terrains,  and i therefore live in Meindl B1 type boots which are superb for my arthritic foot due to the very stiff sole. Unfortunatley I can't always wear these boots and so i wish to get a pair of walking shoes or similar to wear in warmer weather, the office and outside of work and research tells me an approach shoe is my best bet? Therefore can anyone advise on a good shoe or shoes with these stiff soles as the description rarely tells you about the sole stiffness? Being waterproof whilst not essential would be an advantage.  Many thanks in advance. Ross 

ripper 09 Feb 2018
In reply to RossGuyton:

Don't Meindl also make shoes? Would seem like an obvious starting point, as you like their boots so much. Other than that it's the usual answer concerning footwear - try some on and see which suit your feet best. I like my current 5.10 tennies but I wouldn't say they were super-stiff (at least, not once broken in - I remember they felt fairly 'clompy' when box-fresh)

blurty 09 Feb 2018
In reply to RossGuyton:

Go to decent bootfitter and take their advice, I'd suggest

Tony Jones 09 Feb 2018
In reply to ripper:

I love my five ten tennies but I'm not sure whether they're durable enough for the OP's purposes. Might something like a Salomon X GTX trail shoe be a better alternative? They'll keep your feet dry at the very least.

John Kelly 09 Feb 2018
In reply to RossGuyton:

These should do the job

https://www.scarpa.co.uk/approach/zen-pro/

Pbob 09 Feb 2018
In reply to RossGuyton: