Used vans? The good, the bad and the rusty

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JSudd 07 Feb 2021

Hi all, after some general advice and user experience regarding purchasing a used van please (not after 'which model' advice as I've seen the recent thread).

A bit of context: I'm looking to get a mid sized van (e.g. Vauxhall vivaro) in the region of £2500-3500 to use for climbing trips in the UK and the continent. I'm a mature student and have a bit saved up for the initial purchase and insurance, and will be paying for any future maintenance and insurance with what I earn in uni holidays (when I'm not away in the van). 

My question is... am I setting myself up for a maintenance nightmare by looking for a van so cheap and inevitable well-used? If anyone has any good or bad experience please share.

On a side note - if anyone reading this is selling a van in West Yorkshire (that's not a complete rust bucket) in that price bracket please let me know! I'm waiting until this lockdown ends and whatever I buy will need to be local so no rush   

Post edited at 20:13
 pwo 07 Feb 2021
In reply to JSudd:

Bide your time and keep looking. I waited about three months before I found one that met my criteria. I managed to get a Vivaro with full service history, one owner with 80k on the clock for £3500. No major issues whatsoever and completely rust free. I’ve converted it to a camper for a tad under £2K. Although saying that previous ‘vans’ just had a mattress in the back. Really important that you know what your looking at and if in doubt walk away.it’s your money. I deliberately avoided all the ex high mileage fleet vehicles. My vivaro has the duplex chain timing not the belt variety so doesn’t need replacing anywhere as often as a belt.

OP JSudd 07 Feb 2021
In reply to pwo: