Thoughts on North Ridge gear?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 y2keable 05 Jun 2014
I'm new to this brand, It seems that it's only sold in GoOutdoors so perhaps this is their in-house brand/own label. I'm unsure about the quality of these producs (it comes across to me as another High Gear or Eurohike sort of brand) and I'm looking at the Altitude 2 Mountain tent.

Will I be better off saving a little more and getting a lighter tent with stronger fabric for a few hundred more or is this thing a bargin?

http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/north-ridge-altitude-2-tent-p188781

Any thoughts would be appreciated
Jay
 rj_townsend 05 Jun 2014
In reply to Jayson Keable:

As with any own-brand, the majority of the goods are made by "normal" manufacturers. Just take a look at their axes and crampons, and it is clear they they are simply re-badged Grivel.

I've looked at this tent too - clearly based on the Quasar, but with amended flysheet design. Strength-wise I suspect it'll be excellent, but can't comment on the quality of the construction or materials.

Have you read the reviews? They seem pretty positive.
 Blue Straggler 05 Jun 2014

I get the impression that it's more like Go Outdoors' version of higher-end Quechua gear. It's never cheap cheap cheap like Hi-Gear. Note that Go Outdoors sells cheap Hi-Gear tents, trekking boots etc. and dearer North Ridge tents, trekking boots etc. but never cheap North Ridge nor expensive Hi-Gear. That should tell you something. I was tempted by their £40 40l "mountaineering" sack, was wary of the brand, and ended up with a Lowe Alpine Alpine Attack which proved to not be very durable at all :-/
OP y2keable 05 Jun 2014
In reply to rj_townsend:

I've actually struggled to find any reviews, hence this thread.