Softshell Suggestions?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TClimb 27 Aug 2014
Some advice if possible please!

Ive been climbing for 6 months and want to keep going outside over winter. I wear a cheapo softshell a lot but need a new one, mainly windproof and some water resistance. Budget is an issue due to family etc so I dont want to spend more than £125 which I know is far from top of the range, but I wondered if anyone had any advice or experience in this area?

Ive looked at things like the Marmut Up Track http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/marmot-up-track-jacket-p212646 and Patagonia Adze jacket.
Any suggestions/experience would be greatly appreciated.Or if you are selling one shout!

Cheers
In reply to TClimb:
One man's softshell is another man's anything! No two people on UKC will give the same opinion on softshells, as the term is so loose that it covers everything from windshirts to glorified fleeces to lightweight synthetic jackets to Buffalo to anything else, some people insist a softshell must have a hood, others disagree!

Good luck!
Post edited at 22:21
OP TClimb 27 Aug 2014
In reply to nickinscottishmountains:

Fair play and point!

Id like a hood and hoping the ones I was looking at would help. Im after a fleecey lined thing with windproofing. Decent weather protection but not a waxy full waterproof....

Any experience/suggestions as a I say....! If not its go to Hathersage then pick one online!
In reply to TClimb:
But a few things to consider

My all time favourite, perhaps too much for your budget:

http://www.adventurepeaks.com/product/millet_cruise_pws_jacket_blue

High spec Black Diamond half price at £125:

http://www.snowandrock.com/pws/UniqueProductKey.ice?ProductID=BLK0405YY

Very good, with hood, 33% off:

http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/haglofs-mens-viper-hooded-jacket-13110586?id...

Very cheap with hood, surprisingly good:

http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/ayacucho-mens-calgary-hooded-softshell-jacke...