Petzl Adjust Connect & Dual Adjust

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 thejayo 30 Oct 2018

I've been thinking about buying either the dual adjust or adjust connect from Petzl. I'm fairly new to trad and have mainly done single pitch but will be doing more multipitches and sport going forward. I want to avoid using slings and be able to easily adjust the length at anchors. I couldn't really find anything on this but can I use the Adjust connect to extend my belay device during an abseil?

Obviously, wouldn't be able to use it to both secure myself at the anchor and then use it for abseiling. So next question is the dual connect worth it? I'm not too bothered about the extra cost but rather about the extra bulk to carry around

Luke90 30 Oct 2018
In reply to thejayo:

I'm not sure whether the single adjust would have any advantages over a suitable length sling for extending the belay device in an abseil. I don't think the adjustability really adds anything.

As far as I can recall, the UK doesn't have many of the type of multiple-rope-length abseils where the dual version would come into its own. That's probably only worth getting if you're planning multi-pitch trips abroad. Even then, a lot of big climbs have a walk off instead of an abseil.

Gripped 30 Oct 2018
In reply to thejayo:

It may be worth having a look at the Edelrid Aramid slings which are easy to tie knots in and untie and move them about. I have no problem being tied in and using it for extended abseils. I have been using one all summer in the alps and in Yosemite. I like it because of its multi functionality, lightness and having looked at all the lanyards found them bulky and with not such varied use.

The only thing I prefer the Connect Adjust system for is its on dynamic rope, less shock in case of a slip, though with care its not something that worries me.

Just an idea that may or may not be of use to you. 

galpinos 30 Oct 2018
In reply to thejayo: