New Cam Design

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Wot 07 Jan 2013
I'm an engineering student and for my final year disertation I'm designing a new cam. I came up with initial idea last year and have gotten a lot of work done so far.

Any comments on the design/ things that need to change would be helpful. The main comments so far are how would this work with just 1 hand. I'v been chatting with some of my tutors and have got an idea of how to make it one handed.

Here's what I have so far. Just 3D modeling. Photobucket link hope it works.
http://s139.beta.photobucket.com/user/working-on-this/media/Cams/Campic1_zp...

Also I found out the other day that a similar idea already exists.
http://www.ukhillwalking.com/forums/t.php?t=517402&v=1
I'v read through all the comments.
 Brass Nipples 07 Jan 2013
In reply to Wot:

Seems to me that a force pulling on the stem would cause the cams to come closer together, and so the outward force on rock would be lost and it would fail. Maybe it's the diagrams but if they are correct implies a serious flaw.
Wot 07 Jan 2013
In reply to A Game of Chance: Not the best of diagrams sorry. The stem would be threaded it's just very hard to do in solidworks. It would push the cams outword anyway.
Wot 07 Jan 2013
In reply to Wot: I just understud what you mean. If if goes beyond the midway point of the scisor jack it would start to pull the cam together.
 another_mark 07 Jan 2013
In reply to Wot: The thing about normal cams is that the force on them acts directly through the pivot axle.

Looking at your design, I think that the long rigid stem will be problematic with forces which are not aligned with the stem.

You could alleviate this by having hte stem fixed at the lower bracket and able to extend above the top bracket - if that makes sense.

I'm still concerned about off centre forces though.
andic 07 Jan 2013
In reply to Wot:

Have you ever heard of a big-bro? I am not sure I would trust your device over one