Morton’s Toe

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bethr_1997 19 Mar 2020

I’ve been climbing for just over four years and have ALWAYS been uncomfortable in climbing shoes. I thought it was the same for everyone. My second toe is considerably bigger than my first and my third is a similar side to my first toe, making wearing shoes more uncomfortable than most. I’ve reached a point where I don’t want to go through the pain of breaking in another pair of shoes, for them to still remain painful afterwards (albeit less much less painful).

Does anyone have any advice on some stiff soled climbing shoes that would be more bearable?

I had the 5.10 Anasazi LVs, which once broken in (after a period of 6 months) were painful but okay. I recently bought a new pair (now made by Adidas) and I knew the sizing was off, but it seems like by a lot more than I thought?

I have also owned 5.10 verdons, blancos, las sportiva tarantulas and boreal spiders. None of these seem to do the trick.

Do I just suck it up and climb on or is there a better option? Any help is greatly appreciated! 

OP bethr_1997 19 Mar 2020
In reply to bethr_1997:

I’ve looked at some posts made in the past, but they all seem largely outdated (a lot of the shoes aren’t in circulation anymore), so I was wondering if there’s anything in the last ten years!

andyflem 19 Mar 2020
In reply to bethr_1997:

La Sportiva TC Pro. Comfortable and very stiff across the foot. If they can be used by Honnold for his Free Solo they are clearly technical enough for any route I might attempt even in my dreams. I bought a pair after suffering big toe pain from a weeks sport climbing. So far dead impressed, comfortable from the start, I don’t need to keep taking them off. Definitely the way ahead for me. 

olddirtydoggy 19 Mar 2020
In reply to bethr_1997: