Head torch recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 tingle 13 Nov 2019

This probably gets asked on a monthly basis but I couldn’t find a recent post.

Im looking for something comfortable for running but powerful enough for early start navigation. 

The nao plus is a bit off putting due to needing an app to customise, can the custom settings be used while not connected to the phone? Also the LED lenser range is mind boggling.

Run_Ross_Run 13 Nov 2019
In reply to tingle:

Petzl actik core 450. Just got one for trail running etc. Plenty bright enough and has the core USB rechargeable battery. Very pleased with it so far. 

pavelk 13 Nov 2019
In reply to tingle:

Until I bought Lucifer M5 i had no idea what head torch could do.

It´s not cheap but great (I have no vested interest there)

http://luciferlights.net/led-headlamps

In reply to tingle:

As per Run Ross Run's recommendation, I've been using the Actik Core for several years and have really rated it. Just got my hands on the Swift RL, which is similar in terms of size, but has around double the output (up to 900 lumens) and double the price (RRP £95).

More info can be found here, as well as a whole range of other suggestions + alternatives within the thread: https://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/camping/lighting/the_new_petzl_swift_rl_hea...

OP tingle 13 Nov 2019
In reply to Rob Greenwood - UKClimbing:

900 lumin capability sounds great from such a small torch. What is the realistic 900 burn time? Am I reading the article correctly that it’s between 2-30 hours. Seems a wiser investment than the bulky nao

Tringa 14 Nov 2019
In reply to tingle:

This one from Pretzl is also good and bright - https://www.ukhillwalking.com/gear/camping/lighting/petzl_actik_headtorch-9...

Dave

girlymonkey 14 Nov 2019
In reply to tingle:

I really like my Fenix hp25r. 

DaveHK 14 Nov 2019
In reply to tingle: