Gore-tex Pro 40D or Gore-tex Active 30D for general use?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Oak28 12 Jan 2023

I'm looking for a waterproof for general hiking that I can use across 4 seasons in the UK (if that's possible). I won't carry a big heavy pack, 25-30l at most.

I'm caught between a ME Lhotse (Gore-tex Pro 40/80D mix) and ME Firefox (Gore-tex Active 30D).

I run hot so thin/active is tempting but my concerns are the Firefox might be too thin and not as long lasting as the Lhotse. As I'm not planning on scrambling through bushes or over rocks, maybe it'd be fine?

The ME Shivling would probably ideal but I can't find it on sale anywhere so isn't on my radar.

I'm pretty new to this so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

In reply to Oak28:

Personally if I only had one for all year I'd go Lhotse, potentially overkill in the summer but nice to have when the weather closes in on the hills and a durable bomb shelter in the winter months!

If you always carry a pack then the Lhotse will be a more durable option as it rubs on shoulders and back etc.

Lhotse does have pit zips so can get a nice breeze flowing!

If you want it the Shivling is also available from ME.com

Guy Hurst 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Oak28:

I really like jackets made from the Gore Active fabric, but they don't give the feeling of security in winter which standard Gore or Proshell jackets do.

As for durability, I've got a Gore Active jacket, I think made by Berghaus, that's lasted for years. But then I only wear it when it's really raining, not as a substitute windproof layer, and not usually during the winter.

OP Oak28 12 Jan 2023
In reply to Guy Hurst:

Do you know the denier of your Gore Active jacket?

I just checked my old Patagonia Rainshadow and it's 30D. It has been ok for my use in winter. The Firefox is also 30D, but I don't know if 30D in one material can be very different to 30D in another...

OP Oak28 12 Jan 2023