Flaws in existing outdoor products/Products you wish existed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Finn_Allan 30 Sep 2022

Hi there!

My name is Finn and I’m currently studying product design at university in Sheffield. I’m doing a project at the moment focusing on outdoor gear (climbing, camping, hiking etc).

My aim is to create a new piece of outdoor gear or to develop/improve upon an existing product.

For my research I’m collecting peoples opinions on:

Any problems they have encountered with gear they use

Any suggestions for improvements that could be made to existing gear      

Any ideas for gear that doesn’t yet exist

If you have any ideas/suggestions then please send me a message, leave a comment, or click the link to fill in the google form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSczcm0l2BG7Mzg186rVi5T-NOEZF2FwFxq...

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Finn

Kai 30 Sep 2022
In reply to Finn_Allan:

The market needs a hanging stove kit with an inverted cannister for improved cold weather performance.

Stove kits like the Jetboil and the MSR Reactor are great, but the cold weather performance could be vastly improved if they were designed with an inverted cannister design.  

The current stoves that use an inverted cannister design tend to be bulky and not well suited for use in a hanging configuration.  

A Reactor-like stove with improved cold weather performance from an inverted cannister design would rule the world of alpine snow melting and cooking.  

Sean Kelly 30 Sep 2022
In reply to Finn_Allan:

An abseil belaying/device where you can vary the friction without the need to add karabiner?

Jenny C 30 Sep 2022
In reply to Finn_Allan:

Velcro - Trashes the surface of technical outdoor fabrics, looses it's sick over time, doesn't stick when clogged up with snow, mud or fluff and is god awful anywhere near long plaited hair. (Press studs are far superior in the majority of settings)

​​​​​​