Climbing shoe reco - Low volume, Long toes, Big Big toe

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 GPAGE 10 Jan 2022

Hi all,

I'm currently looking for a new pair of climbing shoes for mostly indoor bouldering. I tried on loads of shoes at multiple shops (mostly la sportiva, tenaya) but unfortunately didn't find any shoes that worked for me in the time that I had. I seem to have very difficult feet to fit, so wanted to cast a wide net in case you know of any shoes which may be able to fit the brief. Heres the details so far:

• Low volume feet, with long toes (and an especially big, big toe - its like a fat thumb)
  • Street size - 9.5–10 UK (depending on brand)
  • I've been using velcro katanas (size 8) for the past 3 years. They're still a bit baggy but were the smallest I could go in terms of toe box. I've also been told by shop staff that they are not well fitting
  • In the katanas, and most other shoes that I try on, I get an incredibly painful hotspot on my big toe knuckle, but baggy around surrounding areas. I can't 
  • I have been climbing (mostly bouldering) on and off for 4+ years
  • Currently climbing v3-4 (99% indoor bouldering), would love to move into v5s this year and do more climbing outdoors
  • Probably looking for medium stiff, low to medium aggressive shoes, but open to trying outside of this if the shoe fits
  • The closest shoes to being right that I tried in shop were Sportiva mythos (size 7.5) on but still felt too painful on the toe in comparison to getting rid of the space/bagginess elsewhere

Any guidance would be amazing, Thank you in advance

Suncream 10 Jan 2022
In reply to GPAGE:

Your feet sound quite similar to mine and I get on well with the new Scarpa Boostics, might be worth a try

Mike Stretford 10 Jan 2022
In reply to GPAGE: I sounds like you have similar feet to me.... I wore Mythos for years.