Best shoes for smearing up slabs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ChrisBrooke 10 Feb 2020

I'm looking for advice specifically on the best shoe for sticking to gritstone smears.

In some ways a simple question - which shoes have the stickiest rubber and most sensitive feel for attaching myself to smears? I'm not a beginner and don't need the 'the best shoe is the one that fits' advice. It doesn't need also to be an all-rounder shoe: I boulder in Tenaya Iatis which I love and have got me up all sorts of problems up to 7B+. I'm after that secret weapon I can pull on from time to time when I need the absolutely stickiest shoe for standing on nothing. What should be on my 'try on' list?

Thanks.

In reply to ChrisBrooke:

Looking at your picture and the grades you climb surely it should be you GIVING the advice not asking for it

Al

OP ChrisBrooke 10 Feb 2020
In reply to Gaston Rubberpants:

Thanks but I am a bit of a punter, and I don’t keep up with gear stuff. I bet there are some proper shoe nerds out there who can help me out.  

Mr Lopez 10 Feb 2020
In reply to ChrisBrooke:

Sportiva Cobras. Bought 2.5 to 3 sizes down and stretched to perfection. Best when the sole is about halfway through to end of its life. Not great if standing on little nubbins unless you have a high pain tolerance in the underside of your big toe!

In reply to Mr Lopez:

Ouch! Three sizes!? I’m into comfort as much as possible though. One of the reasons I love the Iati. It seems to have comfort and precision. I reckon there’s something stickier out there though. 

In reply to ChrisBrooke:

Maybe something like 5/10 pinks? Stealth rubber about as good as you get. Soft flat shoe and quite thin rubber. Sensative on marginal smears.

Used them for a while myself. I rate them but they do wear out quicker than most.

HeMa 10 Feb 2020
In reply to ChrisBrooke:

LaSpo Maverink or Speedster are really good options. Better than Cobra imho. 

Dave Garnett 10 Feb 2020