Best finger tape?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Reach>Talent 11 Sep 2019

I've lots of different brands of tape over the years and some have been good while others were pretty useless, unfortunately by the time I have decided if a roll of tape is any good I have usually thrown out the pack and forgotten who made it.

This is mainly for protection when crack climbing so availability in wider rolls would be handy. Any particular brands to look for or avoid?

cb294 11 Sep 2019
In reply to Reach>Talent:

Beiersdorf Leukotape. 

Expensive but excellent. It is absolutely non stretchy but can still be torn lengthwise or across, and becomes more sticky when the roll gets wet or damp while most other brands lose their adhesiveness. It will even stick reasonably well on sweaty skin. I have been doing judo for 40 years, where taping is even more crucial, and found nothing better.

CB

edit: Forgot to add, the best cheap alternative where stickiness is less of an issue (because you tape large areas, e.g. the outer layers of a tape glove) is Intersport Hockey tape. You can buy it in Sweden in the ice hockey department of every sports store, and in comes in 50m rolls or so that you can find for 30 to 50Kr. I buy a couple of rolls every time I go hiking up North.

Post edited at 09:56
 nniff 11 Sep 2019

As a long term user of finger tape (don't start on the pro's and con's of long-term use - my personal experiment has been going on since 1982)  there is only one that I will use - Strappal.  It is zero stretch (unlike a lot) and very sticky.  Buy on-line from pharma/physio sites like vivomed.  I use the slightly wider stuff and tear it in half (2.5cm I think)

Jon Greengrass 11 Sep 2019
In reply to cb294:

> Beiersdorf Leukotape. 

I can vouch for how sticky this is, if you have hairy hands shave before application to avoid waxing when you remove the tape. They actually market a Leukotape remover solution to avoid epilation.

cb294 11 Sep 2019