Winter Mountaineering (in actual winter!)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 FerClimbs 28 Jun 2019

Hi people,

I am fairly new to mountaineering and experience is taking too long for my impatient soul so I was thinking about taking this winter off and spend some time up in the mountains.

I was thinking first to spend some time in the following areas:

December: Scotland, Lake District.

January: Pyrenees (mainly Spanish)

February: Alps. Probably south, Ecrin, Oroco Valley, for no particular reason.

March, May and April: Nepal. Annapurna region.

Ambitious, isn't it?

I have tons of questions... but the first one would be... do you see something terrible wrong with my plan?

I know most refugees will be closed at that time of the year so unfortunately I would need to carry a tent and sleeping arrangements (too cold for bivving probably) to camp.

Regarding weather, I have checked the Pyrenees and apparently in December the rainy season finishes so January should be fairly dry, although cold. Scotland, the Lakes, this likely to be QMDs (Quality Mountain Days) for my ML (Mountain Leader) as I doubt there will be any snow for that time of the year. The Alps will be covered in Snow for January although maybe too much snow? I can move things a little bit forward and backwards but going this summer or next is not an option unfortunately.

Another topic that concerns me is partners. I will reach to all my climbing partners, my local mountaineering club, probably here as well but I am guessing it wont be easy to find partners for this ambitious plan, so wondering if you have any advise in that sense. I am happy to do stuff solo but I need other for glacier crossing and pitching.

Any advice, feedback will be welcomed.

Thanks!

Fer

subtle 28 Jun 2019
In reply to FerClimbs:

December in Scotland can be very wet, generally dark, prone to high winds at that time of year - and not generally that snowy so good luck.