Stubai Alps: Advice on Difficulty of Peaks

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 thelostjockey 28 Jun 2018

Morning All,

Over some of the summer I am planning to go to the Stubai Alps with a friend. I have the guide from Cicerone by Allan Hartley and also Eastern Alps by Dieter Seibert. My friend and I have some experience of the Alps from previous summers; we are scramblers really and not rock climbers. In the Alps we have been up Pointes de Mourti and L’Eveque to give you a sense of our limits.

I am trying to get some reliable information on the following peaks in the Stubai Alps:

Schrankogel

Windacher Daunkogel

Warenkarseiten Spitz

Zuckerhuetl

Sonklar Spitze

Any guidance at all, gratefully received.

On the tour, we will be staying in the huts in this order: Amberger, Hoch Stubai, Hildesheimer, Mueller, Nuernburger. Am I right in thinking we should book ahead, book the whole things before or do you think we can turn up on the day?

With thanks, Stuart

Marmolata 28 Jun 2018
In reply to thelostjockey:

What kind of information are you looking for specifically, that's not in the guides you already have? I think a good map of the region will be most helpful. You can also check the websites of the huts, they usually have some information on the tours to the nearby peaks and treks to the next huts.

If you have a set itinerary you might as well book ahead. On some huts that's possible online, some yo have to call. But always call them to cancel in case you won't show up because of the weather. A no-show-fee has been introduced by some huts. 

Will be staying a week at Amberger Hütte myself this summer. Schrankogel is supposedly simple, not climbing, just scrambling (UIAA grade I) but of course a peak of 3500 m will have ice and snow. 

cragtyke 28 Jun 2018