Solo summit Mont Blanc guidance needed.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
resource 14 Aug 2019

Hi can anyone give me some advice on a solo attempt on the summit of Mont Blanc.

I will hopefully have an opportunity to attempt this next summer. I have been around plenty of known UK hill routes solo including scrambling routes such as Snowdon Horseshoe, Scafell Pike etc. fortunately none of them have posed too many issues. I now feel ready to attempt a climb on a “proper” mountain. After doing some research I believe Mont Blanc is achievable with the right preparation and not a bad place to start. I am not a member of any clubs and the guided group tours on offer don’t look very appealing  In the end I concluded its probably best to just do it solo and  walk up via the Gouter Route. As I have no Alpine experience can anyone make any recommendations as how best to prepare over the forthcoming winter, fitness etc.? Also advice on route finding and potential pitfalls  (besides the Couloir) along the route up as only thing that puts me off is falling down a crevasse on my own.

Many thanks.

mrphilipoldham 14 Aug 2019
In reply to resource:

I soloed it as my first ever alpine peak, with no acclimatisation. Had done Rysy in Winter and Toubkal in the Spring in the months leading up to it. 

Don’t let anyone tell you it’s not doable, but don’t believe it’s a safe walk in the park either.. I was probably a bit naive at the time.  Three roped people died between the Grand Couloir and the Gouter Hut on the same day as my ascent, which really put things in to perspective (and strangely glad I didn’t have a partner!)

The route is mostly a walk but there is sustained but equipped grade 1/2 scrambling up to the hut so hill fitness would serve you best.

Webster 14 Aug 2019
In reply to resource:

if your needing to ask these questions then you shouldnt be attempting to solo it!

GridNorth 14 Aug 2019
In reply to resource: