Seeking Advice for Chamonix

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 17 Feb 2021

Hi everyone,

I am an Australian living/working in the Netherlands and am planning on driving to Chamonix for 5-7 days (17-23rd July). Hopefully, the current situation relaxes, and travel is allowed.

Two things I am seeking to find more information:

- Advice and ideas for routes that fit my skill and desires. So that is 2-3 day long hikes around Chamonix. I would love to head into the mountains and stay at a hut, but my novice mountaineering ability means I would rather stay away from glaciers (if it requires hiring a guide for a day that's also a possibility). Easy to moderate scrambling would be fun and within my ability range.

- Camping: Where is the best place you recommend to set up our tents and use as a base camp for our trip.

Fitness is no issue, and I have plenty of experience outdoors with camping, hiking, scrambling and have done several via ferratas but no experience with mountaineering as such.

Any advice you can offer would be much appreciated.

Jim Lancs 17 Feb 2021
In reply to Removed UserLordBaller:

Have a look at the Aiguilles Rouges on the opposite side of the Cham Valley to the main mountains. There's good glacier free walking with superb views and huts for multi day loops.

There's also lots of alternative places to walk in the Alps and other areas which are at least as good as walking around Chamonix.  Many less crowded and even prettier. 

Doug 17 Feb 2021
In reply to Jim Lancs:

Agree, much as I like Chamonix, for walking rather than climbing, there are other areas which are probably better, most of which are less crowded & many of which have better weather. Look at places such as the Vanoise, the Ecrins or the Maritime Alps.

Mark Haward 17 Feb 2021