Saas Fee

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Andy S 03 Apr 2019

I’m an experienced rockclimber and me and my mate went up Toubkal last winter. We now have our sights set on Saas Fee to do some 4000s in June. I have little alpine experience (a little Scottish winter and one biggish alpine summer peak multi pitch). My mate has almost zero climbing experience but has a good head on his shoulders.

Any and all tips welcome. What does the typical routine look like for going up one of these? How much do the huts cost? Do we need them? How much for lift passes? Do we need them? Guidebook recommendation?

Smythson 03 Apr 2019
In reply to Andy S:

The Martin Moran 4000ers book is a good start. If you're just starting out try staying down the road in Saas Grund - there's a hotel that has its own campsite. It's comes with free lift pass to all the lifts bar the higher Saas fee ones. You don't need a hut for a few of the 4000ers. Beware there are some further down towards Saas fee that probably look like you can do them in a day but coming down can be sketchy so worth using a hut for the early start and safe descent. I'd recommend starting with the Lagginhorn (rocky) and Weissmies (crevassed) and seeing how you get on. There's an awesome traverse on the other (Dom) side once you've got your hand in.

pec 04 Apr 2019
In reply to Andy S:

If you are staying in paid for accomodation in the Saas valley (including capsites) you can get a pass to use the lifts for "free" although there are some strings attached (forgotten exactly what) but it probably works out cheaper.

Regarding routes,