Para-Alpinism

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 chris687 03 Oct 2021

I've been climbing in the alps for about 10 years and I've just started flying a small lightweight paraglider. 

Combining the two is awesome but obviously quite niche. I'm really psyched to start linking routes by flying in to the start and off the top, climbing in-between.

It would be great to find other people to talk to and climb/fly with. Or if anyone has some well recommended resources then I'd be grateful to be pointed in this direction. 

Removed User 03 Oct 2021
In reply to chris687:

1980s would be a good start?

Lankyman 04 Oct 2021
In reply to Removed User:

> 1980s would be a good start?

Treecreepers have been doing this for millennia. They climb up the trunk then fly to the bottom of the next tree to do it all again.

John 04 Oct 2021
In reply to chris687:

Ive done this in the Lakes a few times. It is niche as most Pg pilots dont even like walking uphill. But Hike-Fly and Fly-Biv has gained popularity in the last few years and it might have a knock-on to Climb-fly. 

Maybe try www.paraglidingforum.com

Toerag 04 Oct 2021
In reply to chris687:

> I've just started flying a small lightweight paraglider. 

How small & lightweight is 'small lightweight' in terms of pack size/weight?  All the guys I see going up the lifts to fly in the alps have their kit in a massive 100l+ bag, but I guess a lot of that is the 'sleeping bag' they sit in and I assume you wouldn't bother with that?

Davvers 04 Oct 2021
In reply to chris687:

Hi, have a look for the speed flying scene. the speed flying rigs are quite small and you could reasonably do some alpine routes with one of these. A full paraglide of course would be to big and heavy.

Once I get out and about (it'll be a while) I'll join you!

Have a great time

a crap climber 04 Oct 2021
In reply to chris687: