Looking for partners winter alpine season in Scotland/Europe 2021/2022

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tom265 22 Aug 2021

Hi all, 

I'm a 22 year-old Sheffield based fair-weather climber and walker looking to step into the world of mountaineering and winter climbing. I've not got any experience in these disciplines, but I'm eager to learn. 

CV: I've got a cool head, a love for the mountains, and enjoy the struggle. I've climbed for about 8 years in various countries leading multi pitch routes, trad and sport. Done a little bit of bolting and new-routing in Malawi (Southern Africa) where I grew up. I enjoy taking long walks e.g. did the Pennine and WH way last year solo carrying all my kit. Current climbing ability peaking at around HVS/E1 and 6c. At work I'm a blade repair technician on wind turbines and use rope access in the job. 

Ideal partner would obviously be an experienced and patient individual willing to guide me through the initial learning curve. Realistically such a person is hard to find, so if there is anyone out there in a similar spot to me we could partner up and work it out together. I know I could and possibly should just fork out for a course, but would prefer to do it the old fashioned way and learn on the job. I back my own ability to be safe and always approach the mountains with a healthy amount of respect. 

Not much of a concrete plan as yet, just testing the waters with this post. The dream would be a long trip in the Alps in Jan-March 2022 visiting some steady classics. I've got my own car, and would be happy with the drive. If this sparks any interest, my email is tomalawi265@gmail.com

Cheers

Suncream 22 Aug 2021
In reply to Tom265:

I think it'd be a big jump straight into alpine winter climbing, much better to build up experience in Scottish winter or summer alpine first. Do you ski? The vast majority of people ticking summits in the Alps in Jan-March will be ski touring.