Ice axe shopping

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Crimp Eastwood 13 Sep 2019

Hey folks, looking for some recommendations/ personal experiences. Looking for a pair of winter axes for low to medium grade winter climbing sort of grade 3-4 ish. I currently have one walking axe and Im looking for something slightly more technical so my knuckles aren't getting bashed to bits but that I can still use on Alpine ridges as a walking aid or to break with in Scotland should the need arrise . Im a student at Edinburgh but happy(ish) to fork out the money if its worth it!

I will be using the axes throughout Scottish winter and also the alps during the summer.

Thanks!

GarethSL 13 Sep 2019
In reply to Crimp Eastwood:

Any all-round moderately technical tool will do, DMM Fly, BD Viper, Petzl Quark... et al. ad infinitum... 

They will see you up almost anything, have modular picks and can be stripped down (removable finger rests etc) for better suitability to alpine or easier winter climbs. 

Have a play with some and shop around, there's usually pretty good deals on ice axe pairs throughout winter. Second hand is also worth considering with ice tools. 

Singing rock bandit is a option, i have a pair and for the price they are great, they are a lot like Quarks but with a slightly narrower handle.

rj_townsend 13 Sep 2019
In reply to paul_the_northerner:

> Singing rock bandit is a option, i have a pair and for the price they are great, they are a lot like Quarks but with a slightly narrower handle.

Rather than typing exactly the same, I'll just second this...

angry pirate 13 Sep 2019
In reply to rj_townsend:

Thirded

JohnBson 14 Sep 2019
In reply to GarethSL:

I wouldn't bother with the dmm fly. They're crap for mixed and ice. Geometry is all wrong and the pick shape isn't that good. I bought a pair and realised how crap they were when I tried out my mates vipers, so much more stable on rock and almost no dinner plating.