Guidance needed: 6000m+ Peak Nepal

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TomA_93 27 Jun 2022

Good afternoon all! Long time lurker, first time poster.

I have the opportunity to organise an expedition to Nepal, but I am looking for some advice on which peak would be most suited to the group. It is my first time organising and overseas expedition, but luckily I am in an organisation that has the resources. Now I need you to help me with the location.

The aim of the expedition is to set the foundations for a future mountaineering association within the organisation. The group will be of mixed experience, rank and gender, but it must be presumed that they are starting from the beginning. There will be a selection and training process, which will bring people from foundation level, all the way to alpine and able to summit a 6000m+ peak in Nepal. This is over the course of 2 years, with 4 exercises overall. The intention is to avoid the most 'touristy' peaks, as it will help secure funding and showcase the aims of the association.

My other question is in regards to what Nepali tour operators mean when they say "technical climbing skills required". Is it being able to use crampons and a jump, or is it able to climb pitched snow and ice such as in Scottish winter mountaineering?

Peak choices:

1. Thamserku

2. Singhu Chuli

3. Lobuche East

4. Chulu Far East

Thank you in advance,

Tom

Moacs 27 Jun 2022
In reply to TomA_93:

I wrote a fairly detailed reply but have deleted it because I think you're being disingenuous about this.

It looks like you guide hill walks in the UK and want to expand...and have a client interested in a bigger programme.

People may be willing to give free expert and advice, but you need to be honest about the situation.

L.A. 27 Jun 2022
In reply to TomA_93: Interesting that your peak choices for first time Himalayan climbers with relatively little big mountain experience is so disparate.