Breithorn / Monte Emilius - from Aosta Valley.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 FockeWulf 28 Sep 2022

I want to post this blog to serve as a bit of information for anyone thinking of doing the same mountains from Aosta, particularly out of season when the huts are closed and there's no
ski lifts working. 

Things to consider:

I'm 33 years old, medium build. I'm not athletic or a "gym goer" but I walk around the lake district/north wales about 2 or 3 times a month, to mountains that are around 1000m, and have built up  quite decent strength in my legs and can do these hikes without overly exerting myself. 

I'm new to Alpine mountaineering, and the trip was not without some serious errors of judgement - so hopefully this blog will help new Alpinists get a better perspective of what to expect/not expect. 

1) Monte Emilius (3,559m)

Planning - there's not a great deal of information online about claiming Emilius. One poster on here recently pointed out the same thing I discovered (ie, there are a few pages about it online, but it was difficult to piece all the information together in a visually coherent way). I don't get the impression is a very popular mountain to climb. It was one of our preferred choices as didn't look as dangerous as most of the surrounding mountains. And my girlfriend was a bit nervous of doing anything with snow. Monte Emilius was completely absent of any snow. 

We discovered about a week before we arrived  that all the ski lifts were out of action and the huts were closed. I used Ourdooractive maps app to look at the route from Aosta valley, and it seemed that it would take 20 hours to walk all the way up and down back to Aosta. Luckily, the people at the Tourist Information centre were able to provide us with bus time tables which showed that we could get a bus to Pila (none of this information could be found online).