Gems from this month's Outside Magazine

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bobling 01 Oct 2019

A while back I got a subscription to Outside, off the back of how many great books I've read that have started as magazine pieces in it.  True, it's full of gear fluff and branded content, and true it's got a colossal North American bias but there's still loads of good stuff that comes through.  So I'm going to experiment and spread the love to the UKC community and share the best bits, for me, from this month.

I give you:

"An Ocean Plastics field trip for Corporate Executives"
A bunch of mega-corp executives and a bunch of eco-warriors get together to go on a boat trip to visit the floating mound of shi*te called the North Atlantic Gyre: https://www.outsideonline.com/2400590/ocean-plastic-pollution-soulbuffalo

and

"The Last Days of John Allen Chau" 
A more nuanced account of the missionary who was killed a while back on North Sentinel Island by the indigenous people who have ferociously spurned all contact with the outside world: https://www.outsideonline.com/2400030/john-allen-chau-life-death-north-sent...

Hope some of you might fine it interesting.  If so let me know and I'll try to remember to post again next month.

ScottTalbot 02 Oct 2019
In reply to Bobling:

I just finished the Ocean Plastics article and it was a really interesting read! Thanks for that

I'll take a look at the other one tomorrow

Hooo 03 Oct 2019
In reply to Bobling:

Great articles, please keep posting.

The plastics one is truly shocking and depressing. Whatever we do now to improve things, all living things will contain plastic. Forever. The only thing we can do is stop it getting worse.

The one about the missionary was interesting, but I still think the original knee-jerk reaction summed it up pretty well. A deluded idiot got what he deserved. 

Dave Garnett 03 Oct 2019
In reply to Hooo: