Chamber music mega-works

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jon Stewart 02 Oct 2021

I've been listening to classical chamber music for a few years now and I haven't found myself obsessively listening to, getting to know, a particular masterpiece for a while. I think I need some input to find more of the really timeless mega-works.

I'm not hugely adventurous, but I'm open to trying new things.

I started off with the Mozart 'Haydn Quartets' and the fantastic viola quintets, the G minor piano quartet. I don't think I'm going to find more revelations in Mozart, genius though it all is.

Schubert - the quintet in C is, I think the pinnacle of all music, ever (except maybe his piano sonatas). The Eb piano trio. The last 3 quartets, particularly the last, are up there.

Beethoven quartets are a given. A lifetime of music - I don't know them all well, but I know what's going on with them. I've listened to the Archduke Trio a few times, and the cello sonatas. Are there other significant Beethoven works I should head for?

I think Mendelssohn is great. Love the octet, but it's a bit jolly for my tastes. His quartets are quite serious and chewy - are any of these regarded as real masterpieces up there with the Schuberts and what have you? 

Dvorak has appeal - can't argue with the American quartet, but I don't find myself obsessing over it the way I do Schubert, Beethoven and Mozart. Brahms I find pretty tough going, maybe I should persevere? But lightness and humour don't ever seem to punctuate the dense seriousness of his music. It takes some resolve to get in Brahms, and I keep giving up.

Now Haydn I keep trying, but I find him a bit dry - just lacking that emotional richness.

I think I want to go later rather than earlier (not arguing with Bach of course, but that's a different genre to me).