Advice for a "beginner" digital piano around £400

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Blue Straggler 06 Jan 2020

Hello. 

Something I have been pondering for quite a few years, is getting myself a digital piano. 
I used to play, lazily, when I was a child, but never reached any sort of decent standard, I think I finished up playing a few pieces around the Grade 3-4 borderline but no musical theory. I can still read music but am long out of practice. 

A long time ago the received wisdom was "don't spend less than £1000" but I gather that things have moved on and you can do fairly well for around £400-£500. I don't know if this is true but in any case that's my budget. Lower is good! As it might be a phase, and I don't want to end up too much out of pocket if i don't really pursue this. 

Tick-list:

- "Weighted" keys so it feels similar to a real piano
- Not a "keyboard controller" - I want it separated from computers, it is meant to be a diversion from screens etc. I am not currently interested in "making music", it's just for a pastime. 
- Can live without a stand for now, or just a basic "X" or "scissors" stand. Don't want a bulky "looks like a proper upright wooden piano" thing. 
- around the £400 mark. Please don't advise "you are wasting your time if you don't budget £3000". 
- purpose is to give myself some sort of mental exercise which is also tactile, as we (as a population) are said not to be using our hands as much as we used to. Consider this my knitting, or something, as I don't indulge in any handicrafts and I also don't do crosswords, Sudoku etc. I hope that playing music will be a nice brain stimulator, basically. 

I always thought "got to be the full 88 keys" but I'd be interested to hear the pros and cons of losing the bottom and top octaves. I am not playing any fancy stuff that ever goes to those, and a space saving might be nice.