Upgrade a basic mtb or wait and get a better one

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bog ninja 08 Jan 2021

Hi ya I’m a newbie biker and I would like to get a hardtail mtb for easy trail/XC riding and bike packing through the cyclescheme. My lbs in Thurso has a giant talon 3 in my frame size but I would prefer something with a better drivetrain and forks. With stocks of bikes limited and demand high coupled the current lockdown do you think it would be better to upgrade some components on this bike assuming the geometry suits me, or wait to hope something better comes available? 

crustypunkuk 08 Jan 2021
In reply to Bog ninja:

If you're a newbie, why worry about the fork and component level? Just get out and ride.

There may be a point in time in the future where you feel like upgrading, but when you're starting out, the forks and spec won't be what holds you back. 

jethro kiernan 08 Jan 2021
In reply to Bog ninja:

For a hard tail the sonder transmitter is a great bike

https://alpkit.com/products/sonder-transmitter-sx-eagle

a good frame is definitely worth more (upto a point) than components, components are relatively easy to upgrade as you grow into your riding.

gethin_allen 08 Jan 2021
In reply to Bog ninja:

If it were just the drivetrain I'd say get on with riding and then replace things as you break them and know what makes a difference/what you want, after all, many drivetrain components wear out and need replacing over time. Forks on the other hand are pretty expensive and I'd try to get the best fork you can as standard.

crayefish 08 Jan 2021
In reply to Bog ninja:

Upgrading is always more fun and you get to learn a lot about what works for you.  E.g. I turned my crappy shimano entry level hyd. brakes into more than I need for XC through the addition of some 40 euro 203/180mm discs