Sky get on their bike

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 More-On 12 Dec 2018

So it's true, Sky are stopping their sponsorship at the end of 2019.

I presume they are fed up of bad publicity, as well as cost cutting, but is this a good thing for cycling or not?

Personally I hope the team survives in some form as they have good young riders, but I'm no expert as I stopped following the racing closely when TI Raleigh stopped racing in red, yellow and black...

Mike Highbury 12 Dec 2018
In reply to More-On:

> Personally I hope the team survives in some form as they have good young riders, but I'm no expert as I stopped following the racing closely when TI Raleigh stopped racing in red, yellow and black...

If we were in a pub, the conversation would go: Bill Nickson, Peter Post, SDB, 1977, Didi Thurau, he used to flick the pedals round, hah, nothing changes.

Rip van Winkle 12 Dec 2018
In reply to More-On:

Musing on who might be prepared to take on the sponsorship and thinking who's got that sort of cash made me wonder - does the UCI allow betting companies to be main team sponsors?

GrahamD 12 Dec 2018
In reply to More-On:

Whatever you think of Team Sky, I can't see significantly less money in the sport as anything but bad.

In reply to Rip van Winkle:

> Musing on who might be prepared to take on the sponsorship and thinking who's got that sort of cash made me wonder - does the UCI allow betting companies to be main team sponsors?

Various national lotteries, of course.

DaveHK 12 Dec 2018
In reply to More-On:

> I presume they are fed up of bad publicity, as well as cost cutting, but is this a good thing for cycling or not?

Perhaps nothing to do with any of that. It's common for companies to sponsor a cycling team for a few years then move on when they feel they have got all the advertising benefit they will get from that activity.

elsewhere 12 Dec 2018