New Fork or new bike

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Pete O'Donovan 19 Oct 2022

I’m pretty new to cycling, only getting back into it after an absence of 30+ years this spring due to increasing pain and stiffness in my previously injured left ankle, which was severely limiting the amount of walking and climbing I could do at the time (and still is).

I initially bought a cheap and cheerful Decathlon bike to ride around the trails near our base in Catalunya:

https://www.decathlon.es/es/p/bicicleta-de-montana-mtb-29-aluminio-rockride...

but on returning to Sheffield I decided I wanted something lighter (my XL model Decathlon weighed 15.05Kg without pedals!) and more suitable for some road and gravel use, so I bought a rigid fork Planet X ‘Whippet’. It’s a great bike which, thanks to its carbon frame, manages to break the 10.5kg barrier despite the chunky wheels and tyres. However, now back in Catalunya and having brought the ‘Whippet’ down with me, I realize it most certainly isn’t the right machine for my trail riding here, at least not with the rigid front fork. During my first short ride a couple of days ago, not only did my wrists and elbows suffer a beating, but the front end of the bike felt so jittery I could hardly keep upright on faster sections.

As we are frequent visitors to Catalunya and I’d really like to do much more trail riding here, I reckon I have two choices: a) buy a suspension fork and either try fit it myself or get a bike mechanic to do it, or b) buy another bike, more suitable for the terrain I want to ride. I should add for clarity that I no longer have the Decathlon bike I bought in the spring.

Given how much I like riding the ‘Whippet’ (on roads and gravel) in its current form, I’m leaning towards option b, but I’d welcome thoughts from more experienced riders, particularly those who have gone through the process of fitting a new fork.

Pete.

ianstevens 19 Oct 2022
In reply to Pete O'Donovan: