Is this a good bike?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 stevieb 20 Nov 2019

Hi, I’m getting my teenage son a bike for christmas. I’m looking for a decent basic hybrid for £300+ but I’m no expert on what to look for. 

I was aiming for cheaper, but this bike claims to be heavily discounted, or is it just down at a realistic price? 

https://www.evanscycles.com/trek-dual-sport-3-2019-hybrid-bike-EV340578

and he will be riding 90% of the time on road or cycle paths, so is the suspension (and disc brakes) a big disadvantage rather than a bonus

thanks

Rigid Raider 20 Nov 2019
In reply to stevieb:

Disc brakes are an advantage on a bike that gets used in wet conditions although they can be annoyingly noisy in certain conditions. The front suspension won't do him any harm. 

LastBoyScout 20 Nov 2019
In reply to stevieb:

I would suggest that for what you're describing, you'll be stuck with the suspension, even though it'll be mainly dead weight, but will take the sting out of crappy surfaces and potholes. It does have a lock-out for on the road, which is good. Cycle paths suggests inclusion of gravel/dirt tracks, so you'll need something with a wider, semi-knobbly tyre and most hybrids without suspension (like mine) would be built around a narrower, slick tyre, although newer ones might have a bit more clearance and not be so restrictive.

I'd love it if I could get a CX tyre on mine, but it just doesn't have the clearance at the chain stays.

I'd argue you don't need a triple chainset on a hybrid, unless you live somewhere REALLY hilly.

I see it's got hydraulic brakes, which is good.

Overall, it's not bad and it's a Trek, so will be a decent build quality. The yellow one looks cool.

JLS 20 Nov 2019
In reply to stevieb: