Base layer under my jersey?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 FinrodFelagund 21 May 2018

I'm fairly new to the whole biking thing, and yesterday I was on a group road ride wearing just a jersey on my top half.

The jersey is tight fitting, light, made of a nylon-type material. Wind goes straight through it. The material feels quite similar to one of the helly hansen striped crews (http://www.outdoorgb.com/p/helly_hansen_stripe_crew/?SelectedItem=539760).

Some of the people I was riding with told me that I should wear a base layer under my jersey to help with wicking. They all had mesh vests on under their jerseys.

But to me, coming from a mountaineering background, my jersey *is* a baselayer. On a colder day, I might put a softshell or fleece on over the jersey. On a rainy day, I might put a shell on over the jersey. 

So what am I missing here? Is the term 'baselayer' used differently in the mountaineering and cycling worlds?

gethin_allen 21 May 2018
In reply to FinrodFelagund:

I'm with you, I only put layers on under my jersey if it's cold and a rain jacket on top of it's wet. As long as you're comfortable who cares what others think.

Fredt 21 May 2018

Have you checked The Rules?

GrahamD 21 May 2018

What you might be missing is that a lot of cyclists put a lot of store by "the look".  I think, just like mountaineering, you find a system that works for you

In reply to Fredt:

> Have you checked The Rules?

I know of the rules and I haven't read them because I'd rather spend my time doing something fun.

Post edited at 09:27
In reply to GrahamD:

> What you might be missing is that a lot of cyclists put a lot of store by "the look".  I think, just like mountaineering, you find a system that works for you

Now I'm wondering how to bring Paramo into my cycling.

Chris the Tall 21 May 2018

You needed a baselayer yesterday ?? Where were you riding ?