Getting into winter climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 spenser 30 Nov 2016
Since I started climbing I've wanted to take up winter climbing but location and lack of transport/ injury have so far all provided obstacles to me properly starting, however it looks like I am going to be spending mid february to the end of march in Glasgow courtesy of work, even better I will have my own transport.
I've got plenty of experience leading multi-pitch rock, a reasonable walking background and did a bit of winter skills stuff while I was at uni which focused on basic use of crampons and ice axes, low visibility navigation, avalanche awareness and a snow hole expedition which I really enjoyed, also a tiny amount of alpine stuff after my conville course a couple of years ago. I'm happy with all of the walking aspects for winter (except for Avalanche awareness which I need to brush up on and plan to do so over the next few weeks and maybe get some practice with after christmas).
I'm thinking of taking a long weekend at the tail end of january and doing a course to figure out how to do all of the more winter specific stuff properly (body belays, the various types of snow belay, gain a bit of experience judging conditions with someone experienced at hand and a refresher on moving together), who would you recommend using for this kind of instruction (I know they should be MIC qualified, I am more after specific recommendations)?
Cheers
Spenser
 Tricadam 30 Nov 2016
In reply to spenser:

Sounds like a good plan, Spenser. In terms of recommendations, I did a week's course with Martin Moran up in Strathcarron. Both he and Ken Applegate (MIC) were excellent. Ken is now working for West Coast Mountain Guides (www.westcoast-mountainguides.co.uk) so based in Fort William - easily accessible from Glasgow.