Advice on Camera Type for Ambitious Beginner

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 StefanB 15 Nov 2016

Please help me choose the right type of camera for my intended use. I have budget of around 500 pounds (well Euros in my case, but not much difference now ).
In particular, I am struggling to decide whether to get a decent compact or bridge camera, CSC or DSLR.
I am relatively new to photography, but know the very basics (ISO, exposure time, white balance). The camera will be used for quite varied activities:
I quite like long exposure night photography (currently achieving reasonable results on a GoPro) and daytime landscape photography. But, and this is the reason I am not sure about CSC, I would also like to take action shots of my son's football games.
I understand that in my price range I am looking at an entry level CSC or some sort of DSLR. I have not discarded compact, but think I might like the ability to add lenses later on, so am leaning towards DSLR at the moment.
Any opinions? Any brand / model recommendations? Anything I haven£t thought of?
Thanks in advance.
Post edited at 12:11
 The Lemming 15 Nov 2016
In reply to StefanB:
Digital photography has come on in leaps and bounds over the last ten years with incremental upgrades year on year. However digital cameras themselves have not correspondingly broken down or died as quickly as upgraded products hit the shelves. In fact if looked after digital cameas can last for 10+ years and work very well.

My first digital compact, a Nikon Coolpix 885 camera, hit the shops in 2001. It only takes 3.5mp images but it still works and takes images perfect for internet viewing. Quite a few of those images are on my UKC gallery. Its just a compact and is light-years behind anything today, even on my phone. But it still works.