equipment advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 NessaMay 14 Oct 2016
Hi I need a bit of advice on some equipment. Firstly I need a sleeping bag for Everest Base Camp trek. I do tend to get very cold. The kit list recommends Rab Ascent 900. has anyone got it? is it any good?

Also I am just starting out into winter mountaineering. I am doing a course in December and one in January which I think I will hire boots and crampons for that. But can anyone recommend a good first boot for women for crampons.

And one final thing Ive been looking for waterproof over trousers with a full length side zip, nothing too heavy do you know of any brands? I can only find ones with ankle zips and there not what I am after

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 gethin_allen 14 Oct 2016
In reply to NessaMay:
You really need to get yourself to a good shop to make these decisions, although you may pay a little more than buying online you need to make the right decision or you'll regret it.
Regarding sleeping bags, I wouldn't limit myself to a set Rab sleeping bag only use it as an idea of what you should be looking at, brands like marmot, Mountain equipment, Mountain hardware, Alpkit all make similarly warm down bags and in my opinion can be better value or better items.
Boots are entirely fit dependent so you need to try a few pairs on. I'd look at B2 rated boots and C2 crampons as a starting point. This rating system indicates the stiffness of the boots and the compatible crampons.
And finally waterproof trousers, I really like the Berghaus Deluge trousers, they work brilliantly and can't be beaten on value IMO.
OP NessaMay 14 Oct 2016
In reply to gethin_allen:

well I did go into a shop for my boots and they said they were crampon compatible and I have now found out they are not. This was the main reason I bought them. So I am £200 down now.

Great thanks for your advice. I will go and hunt some of them out and see how I get on